Beyonce is genius

Image

Beyonce pulled off the ultimate surprise last night! The superstar R&B diva, who has been on tour for the majority of the year, released a full visual album (her 5th) at midnight on iTunes. Hold on…..

*SCREAMING*

The internet went absolutely crazy at the news. No one knew that Beyonce had an album in the works, in fact her fans were pressuring her to release a single. I was in awe myself at how she was able to keep all of this under wraps. The album is pretty solid and extremely sexy. It has features from her husband Jay-Z, Frank Ocean, Drake, Nigerian writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and even her 1 year old daughter, Blue Ivy!

I want to take a moment and just talk about the genius of releasing an album with no promotion, no promo, no interviews, no warning and absolutely no buzz. It takes a certain kind of confidence to do this and I think Beyonce has come to that place in her career. The album speaks for itself. She didn’t spam our timelines with links or essay type speeches to buy this record. With Beyonce not saying much, the album simply titled “Beyonce” has shot to #1 all over the iTunes charts. She also created a product that generated many impulse buys because it was so last minute. I can see a lot of artists doing this in the future.This triumphant feat for the singer who says, “I see music, it’s more than just what I hear. When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to a feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music.” (facebook page)

I am loving this new Beyonce, no other artist has brought this much excitement in quite some time. The visual albums features 14 new songs and 17 videos to accompany. It is worth the $15.99.

 

My favorites – Drunk In Love, Superpowers, Blow, Yonce, Flawless, Grown Woman, Heaven, Partition.

(All photos from tumblr.com)

Image

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

Image

Congrats Beyonce!

xo

Leave a Reply

